Pink & Blue Mummyland

Pink and blue parenting through pink and blue moods….

Love Poem

on September 30, 2014

The Prayer:

“Lord, show me why I can’t grasp your love for me…”

The Answer:

You don’t think you’re worth it.
But love is not about worth.
Love is about desire.
Things that are worth a lot in the world don’t draw my desire and love.
Things in the world are just things –
You are so much more.

You are a bundle of fibres that I knitted into a beautiful sweater,
One that I wear and inhabit.
I don’t love you despite your failings and shortcomings;
I don’t love you because of them;
I don’t love you with a wish to change them.
I just love you.
I love you I love you I love you.

I only yearn to change you so that you can see my love for you,
So you can experience it;
So you can know it’s authentic;
So you can believe it;
So you can live it.

Love and worth are not connected.
You want to connect them because you are afraid of being loved.
Afraid you might be discovered.
Afraid of not being able to love me back.
Afraid of letting go.
Afraid of being you.

Guess what? I know all that!
I made you!
I designed you!
I live in you! Or at least in the bits you let me…

Stop trying to love, and just love.
Stop trying to be loved, just be loved.

I know you’re scared.
Scared of failing, scared of falling,
Scared of not living up to a standard.

Let me in.
I won’t change you until you want me to,
I won’t transform you until you are ready.
I won’t take away your “you-ness” –
I love your “you-ness.”
I want to make you more you.
And more you is more me…

You were made to be like me –
To love like me
To laugh like me
To grieve like me
To sacrifice like me.

Stop trying to understand
Stop trying to believe it’s possible
Stop trying to make sense of it
Stop trying to be something you aren’t
Stop trying to run before you can walk.
Stop trying.
Just love
And be loved.

I love you.
I love you.
I love you.
I love you.
I love you.
I love you.
I love you.
I love you.
I love you.

One response to “Love Poem

  1. subversivite says:

    Very good – well put. I wish everyone could just GET this!

Leave a Reply

